The Graduated Licensing Program
The new Hawaii law establishes a three-stage graduated licensing program for drivers under the age of 18. The program allows beginning drivers to develop their driving skills over time as they gain experience and maturity.
The Instructional Permit Phase
The person must:
- Be at least 15 years and 6 months in age to take a driver's permit exam
- Be seated next to a person who is at least 21 years of age and licensed to operate the same type of motor vehicle. However, between the hours of 11:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m., the supervising parent or guardian must be seated next to the minor driver.
- Have all occupants wear their seat belts
Phase complete after 180 days, when student has completed a Driver's education course through DOE or Private Lessons and then take a Road Exam.
The Provisional License Phase
The Provisional Licensee can drive by him/herself but with restrictions:
- Only 1 passenger of below age 18 unless that person is a household member
- All passengers must be wearing their seatbelt
This phase is completed after 180 days before acquiring a Full Driver's License.
Full Driver's License
A provisional licensee may be issued a full driver's license if the provisional licensee:
- Has satisfactorily held the provisional license for at least six months/180 days
- Has no pending violation that might result in suspension or revocation;
- Is at least seventeen (17) years old; and has satisfactorily complied with all the requirements of Chapter 286, Hawaii Revised Statutes.